So I’m too much for you, huh? πŸ‘‹

Over the last few years, I have been repeatedly told that I am ‘too much’. Whether it is too ‘enthusiastic’ or too ‘opinionated’ or too ‘trusting’ or too ‘excitable’. To me, these are the most important attributes to hold but are also those I rarely come by. Take a look at my friendship circle and you’ll see this is something I require in my company. 

For a long time, it made me feel as if I was giving too much of my energy and personality to others with negligible returns and unwarranted criticism. I felt like I was being told not to be me in an effort to be liked (something I don’t struggle with imo) *blows own trumpet*

Surely, you can’t help but be who you are?

I tried to hold back, tone down my opinions and sometimes avoid situations where I KNOW I would have voiced my opinions without a second thought. This all happened to no avail.

I slowly realised that I am who I am and there are people in this world that give life everything they have and try to make light of every single difficult situation. There are also people in this world who are happy to let life strike them time and time again – not a problem. You won’t find me telling you that you are ‘not enough’. So, please don’t tell me I’m ‘too much’. We clearly place quality of life on a different rank in our criteria for a successful life.

As of this moment in 2017, positivity is rare. There isn’t enough of it in the world. If you can’t see the humour in tough situations, you are succumbing to fear and silence. You are spreading your legs for the world. You are literally letting life take you by the horns. The following message is mostly for those who complain. I understand that some people genuinely don’t enjoy humour like that. But those who complain about others being full of life and energy – fuck you πŸ–•πŸ»

Don’t dim someone else’s light just because yours went out. To those who are told to ‘calm down’ – don’t. Why should anyone else have an influence on your personality and the level of energy you would like to commit to everything you do? 

To all the ‘glass half full’ people out there – YOU are what is good in this world and it’s people like you that make the world a better place to live in. Carry on being amazing and don’t let the haters rain on your parade. They have no life, so what light can we expect from them? 

Leave a Reply

